My Pigeon Post

 

 

 

First stick

Do you think this is too small then?

 

I thought you may want to see something different than butterflies; although Ive still loads to show you of those; but for now I had to show you these piks I took today of my favorite female wood pigeon.

Earlier last month she had one chick, which sadly got attacked by my hoodlums of my local magpie family. We disturbed 2 adult magpies about to feast on approx 23 day old squab. I took the poor thing in, cleaned up the blood but we sadly lost her the next day.

So in a way it was nice to see Mum searching for sticks to either build or repair their nest, we have an electrical pole bringing us…er…electric…as we live in middle of nowhere so its always been the focus of attention of the birds…makes a great giant perch. Especially now the swallows have finished with it, they are giving the others a chance.

pigeon-stick2

I loved the confused look on her face as she tried to move this stick around ontop of the electric pylon. I really hope shes not planning to nest up there; especially with the storms predicted for this week.

Dropped-my-stick

Now look what you made me do!

I had to laugh as this was the glare I got after she dropped her stick…yes of course it was my fault…eeep……if looks could kill.

But you will see from the images below Im a very long way from her…gulp…shes not a happy bunny is she?

Dropped-my-stick2

This image is taken at the Lumix’s shortest 24mm, if you look closely you can just see the pigeon right in the middle at the top inbetween the wires.

 On another note I was pleasantly surprised at all these shots as I didnt have my trusty Canon  40D with my beloved 100-400mm lens, I just had my handy Panasonic Lumix TZ30.

These 2 images (one above, one below) were taken around 5.30am…yes I did say 5.30am…I had to say that again so I could believe it.

I couldnt sleep so I grabbed my camera and went for a wildlife mooch. You never know what you may find so early and it always feels so special that time of the morning. The wonderful fresh dewey smell of the trees and grasses. The dawn chorus was in full song and it was just beautiful, its not often I feel good enough that time to just up and go. I need to do more morning mooches.

pigeon-pylon

This shot was taken at the same time but at the full 480mm, ok its not a masterpiece as as the sun wasnt quite up and it was still dark. But I was amazed to get such clarity at full extent in low light…well done Panasonic.

So fingers crossed she doesnt decide to build all the way up there; but of she does we will try to keep an eye on the family.

I look forward to some more interesting morning findings…yawn…..soo…sleepy….!

 

Coming soon for Natural Ramblings

Species spotlights on

The Peacock Butterfly,

Painted Lady,

Comma and the Small copper Butterflies.

For those scared of spiders…nice fluffy kittens…ok..maybe..not quite…

Species spotlight on the daddy longlegs spider with some fascinating behavioral video footage.

Thanks for stopping by

XxX

 

4 thoughts on “My Pigeon Post

  1. Donna

    That is too sad she lost her young one. I agree, not a great nesting spot either. The look she gave you was really one of being bugged. She did look very perturbed.

    Reply
    1. Natural Ramblings Post author

      The poor chick was so badly injured yet it fed well from our hands, but the shock was too great, bless it. Yes this female dropped her stick then she saw me watching underneath her. But shes been so used to us. The expression was priceless; but shes been back today for more food, so hoping for another clutch this year fingers crossed.

      Reply

Id love to hear from you, thanks for stopping by X

